U2 Travelguide

U2 Travelguide » Berlin » Hansa Studios


In Berlin’s Hansa Studios U2 recorded large parts of 'Achtung Baby'. More precisely, they were recorded in Studio 2, also called 'The Big Hall by the Wall'. That studio can also be seen in the video for 'One' (Berlin-Version). The building was originally built as a club house for the construction trade guild in 1910-1913. During the Second World War the it was heavily damaged, and after temporary reconstruction was soon forgotten due to its peculiar location – in the Western part of the city, but directly at the Berlin Wall. In 1976 the Meisel-Musik-Verlage (Meisel Music Publishers) bought the house and fitted it with a recording studio, and the Meistersaal (‘main hall’) was turned into Studio 2. From then on some of music history’s greats have used the studio (including David Bowie, Iggy Pop and Depeche Mode), particularly for its allegedly very special sound. U2’s producer of many years, Flood (Mark Ellis) was originally the Hansa Studio’s sound engineer.
Apart from the studio, U2 also regularly frequented the pub 'Falstaff', located in the same building. Today it has been replaced by an Italian restaurant.
Only a short walk away you can moreover find Potsdamer Platz, a further location for Wim Wender’s 'Stay' video.
Studio 2 is now once again called Meistersaal, is located on the first floor, and can be hired for all kinds of events. During the day the hall is quite frequently open for the preparation or taking down of such an event, and provides a chance to glimpse a view of the old studio. Have a good look at the still original ceiling lights. On the second floor there are a number of recording studios that are still in use, and thus cannot be visited.

2005, right before U2 Vertigo-Tour conzert in the Berlin Olympiastadium, the team of U2Tour.de and 750 fans celebrate a huge fan-party in the Meistersaal! Bono greets them during the concert in Berlin..

In May 2009 U2 returned to Hansa Studios to film parts for the documentary 'From the sky down', released as part of the 2oth anniversary edition of Achtung Baby.


Köthener Str. 38, 10963 Berlin


Berlinkarte Nr. 1 | Nearest U- and S-Bahn station: Potsdamer Platz (U2, S1, S2, S25). From the station follow Stresemannstrasse, the Köthener Straße is the first street to your right. The studio is a further 50m down on the left.


  • Language:   
  • Travelguide: « previous | next »

Suche | XML | Mobile Version | Bookmark | Topicon

U2 Travelguide

Berlin » Hansa Studios


Info

In den Berliner Hansa-Studios nahmen U2 große Teile von 'Achtung Baby' auf. Als Aufnahmeort diente ihnen das Studio 2, auch 'The Big Hall by the Wall' genannt. Selbiges ist auch im Video von 'One' (Berlin-Version) zu sehen. Das Haus wurde ursprünglich von der Innung des Bauhandwerks in den Jahren 1910-1913 als Verbandshaus errichtet. Im zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das Haus schwer beschädigt und geriet nach einem notdürftigen Wiederaufbau bald durch seine Lage, zwar im Westteil der Stadt, aber direkt an der Berliner Mauer, in Vergessenheit. 1976 erwarben die Meisel-Musik-Verlage das Haus und richteten Tonstudios im Haus ein. Der Meistersaal wurde dabei zum Studio 2. Von nun ab wurde das Studio von zahlreichen Größen der Musikgeschichte genutzt (z.B. David Bowie, Depeche Mode und Iggy Pop), die insbesondere wegen dem besonderen Klang des Studio 2 kamen. Der langjährige U2-Produzent Flood (Mark Ellis) war ursprünglich der Haustoningenieur der Hansa-Studios.
U2 nutzten neben den Studios auch den damals im Haus beheimateten Pub 'Falstaff' regelmäßig. An seiner Stelle findet sich heute ein italienisches Restaurant.
In Gehweite befindet sich auch der Potsdamer Platz. Dort drehte Wim Wenders weitere Teile des 'Stay'-Videos.
Das ehemalige Studio 2 heißt jetzt wieder Meistersaal, befindet sich im ersten Stock und kann für Veranstaltungen aller Art gemietet werden. Häufig steht daher der Saal tagsüber für Veranstaltungsaufbauten offen und es besteht die Chance mal einen Blick hinein zu werfen. Besonderes Augenmerk ist auf die immer noch originalgetreuen Deckenlampen zu werfen. Im Zweiten Stock finden sich noch heute einige Studioräume, die jedoch weiterhin genutzt werden und somit nicht zugänglich sind.

2005, vor dem U2 Vertigo-Tour Konzert im Berliner Olympiastadion, feiert das Team von U2Tour.de zusammen mit 750 Fans eine riesen Fan-Party im Meistersaal! Bono grüßt die Teilnehmer während dem Konzert in Berlin.

Im Mai 2011 kehrte die Band noch einmal in die Studios zurück, um hier Aufnahmen für die Dokumentation 'From The Sky Down' zu drehen, die zum 20jährigen Jubiläum von Achtung Baby erschien.

Adresse

Köthener Str. 38, 10963 Berlin

Wegbeschreibung

Berlinkarte Nr. 1 | Nächste U- und S-Bahnstation: Potsdamer Platz (U2, S1, S2, S25). Vom Bahnhof der Stresemannstraße folgen. Die erste Straße rechts ist die Köthener Straße. Das Studio befindet sich nach ca. 50m auf der linken Straßenseite.


Navigation

  • Sprache:   
  • Travelguide: « zurück | weiter »

XML | Impressum | Topicon