U2 Travel Guide

U2 Travelguide » Dublin » The Clarence Hotel


Info

The Clarence Hotel was built in 1852 and since 1992 is co-owned by Bono and The Edge (another investor is Dublinís business mogul Harry Crosbie). It is one of Irelandís top hotels and a favourite night spot of the band and their friends. On 27 September 2000 the band played a few songs on the hotel roof for the English TV show 'Top of the Pops' and caused a traffic chaos in the surrounding streets.

Apart from the hotel Ė too expensive for normal U2 fans Ė the ground floor features a restaurant, simply called Tea Room but equally up-market and expensive. Located next to it is The Octagon Bar, a hip night spot for Dublinís trendy crowds. It offers excellent cocktails from Ä10.50 (a cocktail menu can be found on the official homepage). There is a good chance to run into one of the band members (when they are in Dublin, that is), and hence a visit to the bar should be high on the list of every U2 fan.

In the hotelís basement an exclusive club, The Kitchen, is located, in former times also regularly frequented by the band, to mainly electronic music. The club shut down in 2002 (News), but reopened again. Check out their homepage for opening hours and events.

The Garage Club nearby was closed a few years earlier, but has also reopened again.


Opening Times of The Octagon Bar:

Monday-Thursday 11.00-23.30h (last orders 23.30h)
Friday-Saturday 11.00-0.30h (last orders 0.30h)
Sunday 12.30-23.00h (last orders 23.00h)

Bar Food available Monday to Saturday 11.00-12.30h, Sunday12.30-22.30h. A menu is available here.

Adress

6-8 Wellington Quay

Directions

Dublinkarte Nr. 9 | From south of O'Connell Bridge head west towards the end of Wellington Quay, where the hotel is located. The Octagon Bar and Tea Rooms can also be entered from the back of the hotel. The Project Arts Centre is located at the back entrance on the other side of the street.


Navigation


XML | Impressum | Topicon

U2 Travelguide

Dublin » The Clarence Hotel


Info

Das Clarence Hotel wurde 1852 gebaut und ist seit 1992 im Besitz von Bono und The Edge (mit Beteiligung von Dublins Mogul Harry Crosbie). Es ist eine der Top-Hotel-Adressen in Irland und ein beliebter Aufenthaltsort der Band und ihrer Freunde. Am 27. September 2000 spielte die Band ein paar Songs auf dem Dach des Hotels für die englische TV-Show 'Top of the Pops' ein und sorgte in den umliegenden Straßen für ein Verkehrschaos.

Neben den für den normalen U2-Fan nicht erschwinglichen Zimmern gibt es im Erdgeschoß noch ein Restaurant, welches schlichtweg Tea Room genannt wird, aber ebenfalls sehr nobel und dadurch teuer ist. Daneben befindet sich The Octagon Bar, einer der Treffpunkte in der Szene in Dublin. Hier gibt es auch herrliche Cocktails ab €10.50 zu geniessen. (Eine Cocktailliste kann auf der offiziellen Homepage abgerufen werden). Die Chance einer der Mitglieder von U2 anzutreffen, sofern sie sich in Dublin aufhalten, ist aber sehr hoch, und daher ist der Besuch der Bar ein Muß für jeden U2 Fan.

Im Keller des Hotels befindet sich der exklusive Nachtclub The Kitchen, der ebenfalls häufig von der Band besucht wurde. Der Club wurde wurde 2002 geschlossen (News), ist nun aber wieder geöffnet, jedoch nicht täglich. Die Öffnungszeiten und Events sind deren Homepage zu entnehmen.

Die Garage-Bar war zwischenzeitlich auch geschlossen und gibt es nun wieder unter neuem Besitzer.

Adresse

6-8 Wellington Quay

Wegbeschreibung

Dublinkarte Nr. 9 | Von der Südseite der O'Connell Bridge geht Ihr am Kai gen Westen zum Ende Wellington Quay, wo Ihr das Hotel finden werdet. Die Octagon Bar und der Tea Room kann auch auf der Rückseite des Hotels betreten werden. The Project Arts Centre befindet sich am Hintereingang auf der anderen Straßenseite.


Navigation


XML | Impressum | Topicon